Meat Free Monday: Butternut Squash Risotto

DSC_1658

Today I used another recipe from Deliciously Ella! I bought another butternut squash last week (for the curry) and didn’t use it, so rather than waste it I used it in this risotto šŸ™‚

Again, it’s not too complicated, taking about 45 minutes to create. A lot of this time is needed because the squash is roasted to bring out the flavour, before being mushed into a sauce.

When I have made risotto before I have always found it to be heavy because I used cream/cream cheese in it, but this is lighter and more filling while remaining plant based and healthy.

I did add the spinach, as I felt like it looked a bit beige without it! Also, I was craving some green veggies. It could work with so many side dishes and more veggies if you wanted – broccoli and asparagus are recommended in the book.

I hope this is useful! What other risotto flavours do you like?

Leave a Reply

