Challenges of Living Plastic Free

So we’re halfway through the month and I’m a little late on this, but I wanted to talk about Plastic Free July!

plastic free

The idea is that you refuse single use plastic for an entire month. I think of myself as fairly good at reducing my waste by not taking unnecessary stuff/choosing products that won’t produce a load of waste! So when I found out about this campaign a few days ago I thought I’d test myself…

It was so hard!

I went to the supermarket and took my reusable canvas bags to make sure I didn’t pick up a single use plastic bag – so far, so good. But then I went to the products – spinach was in a plastic bag, so immediately I’m using a piece of single use plastic!! I also bought avocados and bananas without bags as they have peels, so that was fine. But it just shows that even with the best intentions, you can’t always get some products WITHOUT plastic!

Then I went to Costa (a coffee shop that actually pays tax in the UK!) to get a yummy drink as a treat. Except, I wanted a cream cooler which meant a plastic cup and straw… They do this even if you’re drinking in the shop which is frustrating! I’m going to look into buying a reusable cup that I can take with me into coffee shops so I can have guilt free treats.

The next day I was doing my skincare and applying make up when I realised… This is all single use plastic!!! From cleanser to mascara, it would all be thrown away at the end of its use. The only thing I feel better about it Lush’s products as you can take them back into store to be recycled into more pots. This has spurred me on to experiment with more solid products that don’t need any packaging.

Why use something for a few seconds that is going to spend the rest of your life trying to break down in a landfill site? We use so much plastic that we don’t even think about it! This needs to change and I think this campaign does a good job of bringing it to your attention.

You can register here to receive tips and reminders about living plastic free this month. If you have any tips for living plastic free, please leave them down below – I’d love to read them!

This is a Selfridges shop window which I thought was fitting for this theme! Reducing is the best thing of course, but recycling is also great.

This is a Selfridges shop window which I thought was fitting for this theme! Reducing is the best thing of course, but recycling is also great.

One thought on “Challenges of Living Plastic Free

Leave a Reply

