DIY: Salt Scrub Cubes

DSC_0465As summer is coming (slowly but surely…), I like to get back into exfoliating as it removes dead skin cells which makes my body feel smoother and softer! I love Lush’s Rub Rub Rub scrub, but I find it hard to justify the price…

I came across this recipe for a scrub which uses ingredients you probably have in the kitchen. It also has a twist! They make solid cubes rather than a regular liquid exfoliant. This means it’s easier to use in the shower as there’s no risk of water getting in and ruining the rest of your tub. You simply take one in with you and that’s enough for your whole body.

They’re pretty easy to make – the only difficulty I had was combining the soap and the oil. I don’t know if it was the type of soap I used (it was really old!), but they did not want to melt together! I got most of it melted in though after a few minutes, so the rest was super easy.

I used salt instead of sugar as that’s what I had to hand, and I also added in vanilla extract (for scent) and tea tree oil (for anti-bacterial purposes). These additions mean the coconut oil isn’t as overwhelming! I also left these in the fridge overnight (as my freezer was full) and they hardened perfectly.

These smell awesome and didn’t cost too much at all! They would make a great present 🙂

2 thoughts on “DIY: Salt Scrub Cubes

Leave a Reply

