Meat Free Monday: Simple Jacket Potato

DSC_0267

This is another easy, cheap and nutritious meal that I used to have all the time when I was at university. It’s also vegan!

I read somewhere that potatoes + butter contain almost every essential nutrient that your body needs so a jacket potato is a great base for a meal! I always microwave one for 6 minutes and then cook it in the oven for about half an hour to make sure it’s soft on the inside and crispy on the outside (make sure to pierce the potato before microwaving!).

While it was cooking I prepared the side salad which is huge because I was really hungry! Lettuce + cucumber + carrot + pepper + sweetcorn + avocado + lemon juice – super easy and healthy.

I used a vegan spread on the potato and then topped it with chilli beans (kidney beans in a spicy tomato sauce) and a sprinkle of vegan cheese.

This was so so so filling. I think it’s a staple for anyone – vegan/vegetarian/omnivore alike! What are your favourite jacket potato toppings?

Leave a Reply

