The Dark Side of Chocolate

Happy Easter! I hope you’re all having a wonderful day, and I really don’t want to cast a grey cloud but I have some bad news about chocolate…

A. The Climate Coalition has made this (pretty funny) April Fools/Easter clip about how chocolate is at risk due to climate change! Funny how something so commonplace can be affected by climate change. I love this campaign by the way, check it out – it shows how you may be affected by climate change in ways you never thought of.

B. I found this documentary on youtube… It’s pretty damning about the chocolate industry’s use of child labour. It’s hard to believe this actually happens, but the hidden cameras show it all.

So I’m going to pledge to reduce the amount of chocolate I eat, and when I do buy chocolate I’ll look out for the Fairtrade logo (Divine Chocolate will be my lifeline)! I think this is an easy pledge to make now as I’ve got plenty of chocolate Easter Eggs to eat anyway, and we’re entering Spring – the warmer the weather, the less chocolate I want to eat!

3 thoughts on “The Dark Side of Chocolate

  1. Chocolate is such big business and sadly not enough ethical behaviour with large businesses. Really good points raised here….just need to finish that stash of eggs before I join you πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

