Meat Free Monday: Paneer Curry

DSC_0161

This was delicious and so simple! I’ve tried using tofu this past week, but it just turns into scrambled eggs with me… So I found this recipe online which is vegetarian but not vegan unfortunately. It uses Paneer Cheese – an Indian Hard Cheese which replaces the meat/tofu element in this dish. It might not be the healthiest meal (dairy + carbs + a few veggies), but it tastes so good.

I’ll definitely be making this again, but maybe adding chickpeas to add a little protein! I’m really annoyed that I can’t find the recipe I used – it was super simple. Basically this:

1. Fry a finely chopped onion; add garlic, turmeric and mushrooms after it starts to brown.

2. Add crushed chillies to the onion mix and the paneer cheese (cut into blocks).

3. Add half a cup of tomato puree (almost an entire tube!).

4. Add spinach and stir until it’s wilted.

5. Serve with rice!

I love recipes that don’t have loads of ingredients and don’t take hours 🙂 If anyone has tips for cooking with tofu/easy beginner recipes, please leave them below!

Leave a Reply

