Amy’s Kitchen Review!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I was super excited when I found this brand; Amy’s Kitchen makes vegetarian/vegan, gluten free, organic ready meals and tinned soups. They’re reasonably priced too – around £2-4. I thought this would be a great option for those days when you just don’t have time to cook a meal from scratch, but don’t want to go down the fast food route. So I gave them a test run – I tried all the items pictured, but there are a few more that I couldn’t get my hands on unfortunately. Here’s a list of all the products available in the range.

I’ll start with the soups; I like to make my own soups but it can be a bit messy and time consuming so a tin of soup can be a great back up. I was really impressed by these – especially the French Country Vegetable one! So chunky and filling. I didn’t need anything on the side at all and it was over 50% vegetables – so healthy!

The chillis were great – I’d say that unless you really can’t stand anything hot, then go for the ‘spicy’ one over ‘medium’. It’s more tasty than hot in my opinion and you can’t really tell that it’s vegan! So tasty and yet again, really filling – I had this with rice and it was too much, I might just serve this with nachos instead next time.

The rest of the ready meals were slightly smaller portions, but I prefer this because it means I add fresh vegetables to the plate! My favourite was the Mac and Cheese – just so so tasty! It’s a shame I couldn’t get hold of the Mexican Tortilla Bake or the Indian Mattar Paneer as they sound delicious.

Also the packaging is so much better than regular ready meals – a cardboard box (recyclable), a cardboard tray (recyclable) and a plastic packet (check your local recycling policy). That’s it!

I’d definitely recommend this brand to anyone with a hectic lifestyle who can’t spend time cooking – it’s probably not healthy to have this for every meal, but once or twice a week is just fine! We could all do with a bit more time and this gives you that while remaining true to your values.

Has anyone else heard of interesting brands I could review?

One thought on “Amy’s Kitchen Review!

Leave a Reply

